Seacombe Women's Lacrosse Club 1963 – 1995 Written by Judy Thurgood 2019

The South Australian Women's Lacrosse Association (SAWLA) was formed in September 1961 with the first official match played 9 June 1962.

Seacombe entered the SAWLA competition in 1963. The team consisted mainly of girls from Seacombe High School, where Barry Bain, a former junior state player from the Glenelg Lacrosse Club, was teaching.

In 1964, a High Schools competition, played on Wednesday afternoons, began between Seacombe, (Coach Barry Bain) Brighton, Marion and Plympton High Schools (Coach Don Gomer). Girls from these school teams fed into the association competition matches played on Saturdays.

In 1965, Jean Marshall, (soon to become Jean Bain) began teaching at Seacombe High School. Jean was a member of the South Australian state team and coached with Barry. Jean was to have an international career in lacrosse (and basketball) and was the Captain of the first Australian women's lacrosse team that played in a Tri-Series in 1969.

Seacombe was in good hands with Jean and Barry who were responsible for encouraging 100s of girls from Seacombe High School and the local district to play lacrosse. The first success came in 1966 when Seacombe won the SAWLA premiership.

Based on current statistics (2019) Seacombe Women's Lacrosse Club, although no longer in existence, remains one of the most successful lacrosse clubs in the history of women's lacrosse in South Australia. Since 1962, Glenelg has won 14 A Grade/league premierships with Seacombe and Brighton 13 each. Seacombe won 9 in a row (1972–1980) Brighton, 6 in a row (2008–2013) and Glenelg 4 in a row twice (1995–1998 & 2000–2003).

1964 Seacombe High School lacrosse team



LACROSSE

BACK ROW: J. Croser, A. Taylor, I. Sluiter, G. Heron, G. Watson, P. Lodge.

FRONT ROW: L. Smith, K. Miller, C. Jenkins, J. Plant, J. Mason, S. Paull, L. Sluiter.